Halstead Cricket Club Sunday 1st XI v West Mersea on Mon 06 May 2013 at 13.00
Halstead Cricket Club Won by 53 runs

Match report Halstead finally recorded a victor in Piri Piri league competition, ending a run of 22 games without a win, when West Mersea visited on Bank Holiday Monday.

Goush Raviendran (39) and Chris Rayner (26) set the innings up nicely, before a middle order wobble left Halstead at 92-7. This brought together Digby Harding (87) and Joe Morris (25) who added 105 runs for the eighth wicket. Harding looking to attack at every opportunity. Halstead were bowled out for 209, O'Regan (3-55) the pick of the bowlers.

West Mersea's reply started off at a quick pace, before an excellent reaction catch by Mark Johnson off of Rayner (1-24) got rid of Mills. Dropped catches and other missed opportunities combined with some quick if unorthodox run scoring from Rutter (27), Taylor (28) and White (40) started to take the game away from Halstead. Ben Morris (1-20) dismissed the dangerous Rutter and the introduction of spin in the forms of Ben Roper (1-11), Sam Walter (1-22) and particularly Harding (3-25) tuurned the tide. From there on Mersea collapsed, Callum Hansey (2-12) cleaning up the tail.

Halstead Cricket Club Sunday 1st XI Batting
Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
1nb 6w 1b 4lb 
for 10 wickets
Goushi Raviendran b L. Conway 39 5
Mark Johnson ct M. White - b T. Sanderson 6 1 1
Charlie Douglas-Hughes ct M. White - b M. Wilkin 3
Chris Rayner ct L. Johnson - b J. O'Regan 26 3
Freddie Preston ct T. Sanderson - b J. O'Regan 0
Ben Morris b J. O'Regan 9 1 1
Digby Harding ct A. Pacey - b S. Mills 87 5 3
Sam Walter ct D. Taylor - b L. Conway 2 1
Joe Morris b S. Mills 25 3 1
Ben Roper ct A. Pacey - b A. Rutter 0
Callum Hansey Not Out  0 1

West Mersea Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
M. Wilkin9.0135135.003.89
T. Sanderson8.0146146.005.75
J. O'Regan10.0055318.335.50
L. Conway10.0337218.503.70
A. Rutter3.0014114.004.67
S. Mills2.501728.506.00

West Mersea Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
14w 6b  
for 10 wickets
156 (36.0 overs)
A. Rutter b B. Morris 27
S. Mills ct M. Johnson - b C. Rayner 8
D. Taylor b S. Walter 28
M. White ct S. Walter - b B. Roper 40
L. Conway b D. Harding 1
T. Sanderson ct J. Morris - b D. Harding 1
A. Pacey lbw D. Harding 0
M. Wilkin ct and bowled C. Hansey 0
J. O'Regan Not Out  19
L. Johnson run out B. Morris 8
B. Clark b C. Hansey 4

Halstead Cricket Club Sunday 1st XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Joe Morris7.012900.004.14
Chris Rayner7.0024124.003.43
Ben Morris3.0020120.006.67
Digby Harding7.002538.333.57
Mark Johnson1.00700.007.00
Ben Roper3.0111111.003.67
Sam Walter4.0122122.005.50
Callum Hansey4.021226.003.00

  • Umpire :
  • Scorer :