Abberton v Halstead Cricket Club Sunday 1st XI on Sun 02 Sep 2018 at 12:30
Halstead Cricket Club Lost by 14 runs

Match report Halstead - 172-6 - lost to Abberton - 186 all out - by 14 runs

The NECL side fell to their second defeat of the season at the hands of Abberton, however, Springfield's defeat at Braintree saw Joe Morris' side confirmed as Division Two champions.

Abberton won the toss and batted first, with Halstead only able to field 10 players for the first half of the game.

Brad Mann (2) top-edged Morgan Whymark (1-24) to Joe Morris at cover early on, but Darren Davies (57) and Matt Sullivan (22) scored quickly in a 45-run stand.

Morris (1-30) bowled Sullivan as the hosts continued their lightning-quick start, Will House (44) adding 65 with Davies as the latter passed his 50.

The spin pairing of Sam Walter (3-38) and Josh King (4-31) turned the innings around, with Abberton falling from 125-2 to 186 all out. The former dismissed Davies, Robert McKim (0) and Luke Bloom (1), whilst the latter saw off House, John Arnold (11), A. Desborough (6) and Jack Luckman (0). Craig Scott (27*) was left not out for the ten-men of Abberton.

With Halstead up to their full complement, it looked early on like they may all be needed. Matt Cooper (1) was bowled by Brad Mann (3-21), seeing his middle stump cartwheeling toward stand-in keeper House.

Josh Ruthven (6) was dismissed in peculiar fashion by Mann, the ball running away for what was signalled as four leg byes, prompting a belated lbw appeal, with umpire Ben Brown overturning his original decision to see the right-hander forced to depart.

When Mark Johnson (18) became Mann's third victim, Halstead were struggling at 44-3.

Josh King (43) and Sam Hawes (20) rebuilt with a 59-run fourth wicket stand, but John Arnold (3-29) dismissed King in his first over, caught at gully by Jack Luckman.

Runs were then at a premium as Arnold and Craig Scott (0-31) bowled tight lines and the required rate crept up from 6 to 8 and then 10 an over.

Hawes and Joe Morris (9) fell in quick succession - bowled and caught by Sullivan respectively - bringing Adam Morris (31*) and Sam Walter (22*) to the crease.

The pair tried to put their foot down, but frequently found the fielders despite Abberton's man disadvantage, ultimately requiring 22 from the final over, which was ultimately too much of an ask.

Halstead face Springfield in their final home game next Sunday, before wrapping up the season away to Eight Ash Green the following week.

Abberton Batting
Player name RunsMB4s6sSR
1nb 7w 5b 3lb 
for 10 wickets
186 (34.4 overs)
D. Davies lbw  S. Walter 57 79 11 1 72.15
B. Mann ct  J. Morris b M. Whymark 2 7 28.57
M. Sullivan b  J. Morris 22 12 4 1 183.33
W. House b  J. King 44 8 53 550.0
J. Arnold ct  A. Morris b J. King 11 9 2 122.22
C. Scott Not Out  27 27 1 2 100
A. Desborough ct  S. Hawes b J. King 6 12 1 50.0
J. Luckman b  J. King 0 1 0
R. Mckim b  S. Walter 0 3 0
L. Bloom b  S. Walter 1 6 16.67
E. Mann  

Halstead Cricket Club Sunday 1st XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Sam Johnson4.003500.008.75
Morgan Whymark4.0024124.006.00
Joe Morris4.0030130.007.50
Josh Ruthven7.002000.002.86
Josh King9.023147.753.44
Sam Walter6.4038312.675.70

Halstead Cricket Club Sunday 1st XI Batting
Player Name RMB4s6sSRCatchesStumpingsRun outs
2nb 2w 10b 8lb 
for 6 wickets
Matt Cooper b  B. Mann 1 10 10.0
Mark Johnson b  B. Mann 18 27 4 66.67
Josh Ruthven lbw  B. Mann 6 11 1 54.55
Josh King ct  J. Luckman b J. Arnold 43 54 9 79.63
Sam Hawes b  J. Arnold 20 51 3 39.22 1
Joe Morris ct  M. Sullivan b J. Arnold 9 24 37.50 1
Adam Morris Not Out  31 39 3 79.49 1
Sam Walter Not Out  22 26 2 84.62
Morgan Whymark  
Sam Johnson  
Callum Hansey  

Abberton Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
B. Mann9.022137.002.33
R. Mckim5.002000.004.00
L. Bloom5.003200.006.40
M. Sullivan3.002100.007.00
J. Arnold9.012939.673.22
C. Scott9.013100.003.44