Halstead Cricket Club Sunday 1st XI v Springfield on Sun 09 Sep 2018 at 12:30
Halstead Cricket Club Lost by 22 runs

Match report Halstead - 164 all out - lost to Springfield - 186-9 - by 22 runs

Halstead were bowled out for the first time this season as they fell to successive defeats, this time at the hands of Springfield on the back pitch at Star Stile.

Oliver Prudence (77) top-scored for the visitors, making the most of three dropped catches throughout his innings.

Ed Clark (0-16) and Josh Ruthven (0-32) were the unlucky bowlers to see chances go down as they bowled well early on without reward.

Joe Morris (2-15) introduced himself to the attack, having James Gooday (17) caught behind by Sam Hawes and Noah Pothen (0) bowled.

Prudence passed his 50, but Sam Walter (3-13) set a trap that the opener fell into, holing out to Callum Hansey at deep mid-wicket in the spinners' first over.

Shan Thevasakayam (5) was bowled by Sam Johnson (2-36) and Andrew Blundell (11) trapped lbw by Walter to reduce Springfield to 135-5.

Alan Warley (16) took advantage of the short boundaries, taking a liking to the bowling of Johnson before the latter had him simply caught by Morris at cover.

Jamie Trim (0) edged Walter to Josh King at slip, but Neil Kennedy (19) and Martin Southwell (16*) tried to bat out the overs for Springfield.

Hansey (2-15) picked up two wickets in the final over, Kennedy and Ted Ashurst (0) top edging to Sam Hawes and back to Hansey respectively.

Jamie Trim (3-39) dismissed both Halstead openers, bowling Goush Raviendran (0) and Josh Ruthven (17) before a 47-run stand between Ed Clark (39) and Josh King (19).

King miscued an Alan Warley (2-38) short ball to Paul Durrant at square leg, with Sam Hawes (22) joining Clark at the crease.

Clark looked on course for a half-century, but played around a ball from Warley to be bowled, with Callum Hansey (0) soon following as he picked out the only man on the boundary off Ted Ashurst (1-40) without troubling the scorers.

Sam Walter (2), Sam Hawes (22) and Dave Hawes (4) all fell to the slow left-armers of Martin Southwell (3-25) as Halstead looked to be heading towards a comprehensive defeat.

Joe Morris (35) and Sam Johsnon (17*) kept hopes alive, the former hitting four sixes as Halstead reduced the equation to 35 from 5 overs.

Trim returned to the attack and had Morris caught behind by Kennedy, with Morgan Whymark (0) being bowled by Thevasakayam to give Springfield victory.

Southwell now leads the way in wickets in the North Essex Cricket League Division Two with 20. Josh King (18) and Callum Hansey (16) are hot on the tail going into the final game of the season at Eight Ash Green.

Springfield Batting
Player name RunsMB4s6sSR
2nb 8w 6b 9lb 
for 9 wickets
186 (40.0 overs)
J. Gooday ct  S. Hawes b J. Morris 17 37 3 45.95
O. Prudence ct  C. Hansey b S. Walter 77 65 14 1 118.46
N. Pothen b  J. Morris 0 3 0
A. Blundell lbw  S. Walter 11 37 29.73
S. Thevasakayam b  S. Johnson 5 7 1 71.43
A. Warley ct  J. Morris b S. Johnson 16 8 2 1 200
N. Kennedy ct  S. Hawes b C. Hansey 19 36 3 52.78
J. Trim ct  J. King b S. Walter 0 7 0
M. Southwell Not Out  16 37 2 43.24
T. Ashurst ct  &b C. Hansey 0 4 0
P. Durrant Not Out  0 1 0

Halstead Cricket Club Sunday 1st XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Ed Clark4.011600.004.00
Josh Ruthven6.003200.005.33
Joe Morris5.011527.503.00
Morgan Whymark4.003800.009.50
Sam Johnson6.0036218.006.00
Sam Walter5.021334.332.60
Josh King5.02600.001.20
Callum Hansey5.021527.503.00

Halstead Cricket Club Sunday 1st XI Batting
Player Name RMB4s6sSRCatchesStumpingsRun outs
1nb 4w 4b  
for 10 wickets
Goushi Raviendran b  J. Trim 0 14 0
Josh Ruthven b  J. Trim 17 19 2 1 89.47
Ed Clark b  A. Warley 39 50 7 78.00
Josh King ct  P. Durrant b A. Warley 19 13 3 1 146.15 1
Sam Hawes b  M. Southwell 22 34 3 64.71 2
Callum Hansey ct  A. Blunder b T. Ashurst 0 8 0 2
Sam Walter b  M. Southwell 2 11 18.18
Joe Morris ct  N. Kennedy b J. Trim 35 30 1 4 116.67 1
Dave Hawes ct  P. Durrant b M. Southwell 4 4 1 100
Sam Johnson Not Out  17 24 3 70.83
Morgan Whymark b  S. Thevasakayam 0 3 0

Springfield Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
A. Warley9.0338219.004.22
J. Trim8.0139313.004.88
N. Pothen1.001000.0010.00
M. Southwell9.022538.332.78
T. Ashurst6.0040140.006.67
S. Thevasakayam2.00818.004.00

  • Umpire :
  • Scorer :
    Lozza H