Ipswich v Halstead Cricket Club Saturday 1st XI on Sat 20 Jul 2019 at 13:00
Halstead Cricket Club Lost by 1 wickets

Match report Halstead - 137 all out - lost to Ipswich - 141-9 - by 1 wicket

Halstead missed an opportunity for the second successive week to drag themselves out of the relegation dogfight after a final-ball defeat at the hands of basement dwellers Ipswich.

The hosts won the toss and elected to field first, losing opener Chris Rayner (0) with the ninth ball of the game, caught behind by Mark Burch off Ismail Mohammed (2-22).

Fellow opener Harry Pritchard (10) fell soon after to the same bowler, clipping to Ryan Bumphrey at square leg to leave Halstead at 20-2.

Liam Jones (27) and Josh Wells (36) rebuilt, adding exactly fifty for the third wicket - the Halstead skipper hitting 5 fours and a six in breezy 30-ball 36 - but the latter edged Rob Southall (1-13) behind to Burch.

Jones was the next man to go, run out from midwicket after a patient 64-ball 27, sparking a collapse as Halstead slipped from 81-3 to 86-6.

Joe Morris (0) and Josh Ruthven (8) were the first of five victims for Mark Phillips (5-23) with the former caught behind and the latter at point by Jamie De Cosimo.

Mark Johnson (23) formed partnerships worth 26 with Josh King (15) and 25 with Gary Dicker (10) either side of Ed Clark (0) being trapped LBW, with Phillips taking the wickets of all three and Johnson falling to De Cosimo (1-19) as Halstead were bowled out for 137.

Ipswich survived the loss of Joe Rusby (0), caught behind off Joe Morris (2-24) fourth ball to reach 40-2 as Damien Smith (25) and Nicholas Johnson (48) looked to set-up a comfortable chase for Ipswich.

Chris Rayner (1-20) bowled Smith and Josh King (1-32) had Burch (11) caught by Clark at mid wicket though Ipswich made their way to 104-3 before enduring a collapse of their own.

Neil Parry (13) was caught at mid off by Sam Walter off Wells (3-36), Johnson edging behind off the same bowler to leave the hosts at 113-5.

This soon became 113-6 as Morris returned to the attack to bowl Rob Southall (0); Mark Phillips (0) was then stumped by Dicker off Walter (1-16) and De Cosimo run out by Morris from cover as a shellshocked Ipswich found themselves at 121-8.

Ismail Mohammed (17*) played the marshalling role, with first Alex Phillips (4) and then Ryan Bumphrey (0*) but Ipswich were still 11 runs away from victory when Wells had Phillips caught at mid on at the end of the 38th over.

A maiden from Sam Walter in the penultimate over meant Ipswich needed 11 off the last, to be bowled by Wells, with a wicket in hand.

Mohammed hit the first ball for four with the second a dot before lofting one toward the Halstead fielder on the boundary where the catch went down.

Compounded by the ball also going for four the wind was knocked out of the visitors' sails, leaving Mohammed to hit a 2 and a 4 off the last two balls to spark jubilant scenes for Ipswich.

The dropped catch in the final over was one of four that, had any of them been taken, would surely have won the game for Halstead.

Halstead Cricket Club Saturday 1st XI Batting
Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
2nb 5w 1b  
for 10 wickets
Harry Pritchard ct R Bumphrey b I Mohammed 10 20 1 50.0
Chris Rayner ct M Burch b I Mohammed 0 3 0
Liam Jones run out  (M Burch) 27 64 2 42.19 1
Josh Wells ct M Burch b R Southall 36 30 5 1 120.0
Josh Ruthven ct J De Cosimo b M Phillips 8 21 1 38.10
Joe Morris ct M Burch b M Phillips 0 3 0
Mark Johnson ct J Rusby b J De Cosimo 23 32 3 71.88
Josh King ct R Bumphrey b M Phillips 15 17 2 88.24
Ed Clark lbw M Phillips 0 2 0 1
Gary Dicker ct M Burch b M Phillips 10 22 1 45.45 2 1 1
Sam Walter Not Out  0 2

Ipswich Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Damien Smith10.005900.005.90
Ismail Mohammed10.0222211.002.20
Rob Southall4.0013113.003.25
Mark Phillips7.242354.603.14
Jamie De Cosimo4.0019119.004.75

Ipswich Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
2nb 4w 3b 10lb 
for 9 wickets
141 (39.5 overs)
Joe Rusby ct G Dicker b J Morris 0 4 0
Damien Smith b C Rayner 25 30 4 1 83.33
Nicholas Johnson ct G Dicker b J Wells 48 90 6 53.33
Mark Burch ct E Clark b J King 11 19 1 57.89
Neil Parry ct S Walter b J Wells 13 29 2 44.83
Rob Southall ct S Walter b J Morris 0 11 0
Mark Phillips st G DickerS Walter 0 16 0
Jamie De Cosimo run out  (G Dicker) 4 20 20.0
Ismail Mohammed Not Out  17 8 3 212.50
Alex Phillips ct L Jones b J Wells 4 8 1 50.0
Ryan Bumphrey Not Out  0 6 0

Halstead Cricket Club Saturday 1st XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Joe Morris10.0424212.002.40
Josh King10.0232132.003.20
Chris Rayner4.0020120.005.00
Sam Walter7.0116116.002.29
Josh Wells8.5336312.004.08

  • Umpire :
  • Scorer :
    N. Morris