Halstead Cricket Club Sunday 1st XI v Galleywood on Sun 02 Jun 2019 at 13:00
Halstead Cricket Club Won by 8 runs

Match report Halstead - 217-5 - beat Galleywood - 209-9 by 8 runs

Halstead secured their first win of the NECL Division one campaign with a narrow, 8-run victory over visitors Galleywood on Sunday.

Tim Dethridge (52) and Ben Rayner (52) set-up the Galleywood chase whilst some lower-order hitting from Zak Hicks (37) got Galleywood close, but Callum Hansey (3-29) and Josh Wells (2-26) did enough with the ball to secure victory.

Halstead won the toss and batted, with Charles Mallett (0) falling first ball of the second over to John Hrusa (1-51).

Adam Morris (21) and Liam Jones (36) started steadily as Hrusa, Zak Hicks (1-51), Tim Dethridge (0-36) and Duncan Walton (2-43) bowled tight lines.

Both batsmen fell to Walton, Jones bowled, and Morris caught at mid-on by Conor Hicks. Matt Cooper (5) was run out excellently by a Ben Rayner direct hit and Mark Johnson (40*) retired through exhaustion in the midday heat.

Josh Wells (77*) and first Gary Dicker (9) and then Callum Hansey (3*) took the game to Galleywood, pushing the score over 200 and eventually closing on 217-5 from their 40 overs. Dicker was stumped by James Felton to give Zak Hicks a deserved wicket.

George Pritchard (1-34) - making his return to Halstead colours - and Julian Chamberlain-Carter (1-24) - making his Halstead debut - took the new ball, bowling well to pick up a wicket apiece. Pritchard had James Adams (14) caught by Charles Mallett at mid-off and Chamberlain-Carter had Josh McFaull (7) stumped smartly by Dicker.

Tim Dethridge (52) and Ben Rayner (52) made good progress, first rebuilding then targeting the bad balls as Halstead struggled to get a foothold in the game.

Josh Wells (2-26) eventually broke the partnership soon after Dethridge passed a well-made 50, trapping the left-hander lbw. Rayner moved past his half-century but miscued off his legs to give Wells a second wicket, Callum Hansey taking the catch at midwicket.

James Felton (14) was the victim of an ill-judge run call to be run out by Wells and when Hansey (3-29) bowled Conor Hicks (3) in the same over, Halstead looked well on their way to victory.

John Hrusa (2) was bowled by Hansey who then ran out Aaron Bailes (1) with a direct hit and it seemed to be all over bar the shouting, however Zak Hicks (37) had other ideas.

The youngster took a liking to the leg-side boundary, dragging Galleywood back into the game with 18 needed from the final over.

Hicks hit Hansey for a boundary but was bowled with ten required off two and with that Halstead took a nervy victory.

Halstead Cricket Club Sunday 1st XI Batting
Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
1nb 3w 2b 2lb 
for 5 wickets
Adam Morris ct C. Hicks b D. Walton 21 69 2 30.43
Charles Mallett b J. Hursa 0 1 0 1
Liam Jones b D. Walton 36 43 5 83.72
Mark Johnson Retired Not Out  40 48 5 83.33
Matt Cooper run out B. Rayner 5 10 50.0
Josh Wells Not Out  77 40 9 1 192.50 1
Gary Dicker st J. Felton b Z. Hicks 9 8 112.50 1
Callum Hansey Not Out  3 2 150.0 1 1
George Pritchard  
Julian Chamberlain-Carter  
Chris Roper  

Galleywood Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Z. Hicks8.0146146.005.75
J. Hrusa9.0151151.005.67
T. Dethridge9.003600.004.00
D. Walton9.0043221.504.78
A. Bailes3.001800.006.00
C. Hicks2.001900.009.50

Galleywood Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
6w 10b 3lb 
for 9 wickets
209 (40.0 overs)
J. Adams ct C. Mallett b G. Pritchard 14 1
T. McFaull st G. Dicker b J. Chamberlain-Carter 7 1
T. Dethridge lbw J. Wells 52 7
B. Rayner ct C. Hansey b J. Wells 52 6
J. Felton run out J. Wells 14 2
C. Hicks b C. Hansey 3
J. Hrusa b C. Hansey 2
Z. Hicks b C. Hansey 37 4 1
A. Bailes run out C. Hansey 1
P. Marlow Not Out  7
D. Walton Not Out  1

Halstead Cricket Club Sunday 1st XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
George Pritchard8.0034134.004.25
Julian Chamberlain-Carter7.0124124.003.43
Chris Roper7.002800.004.00
Liam Jones3.002300.007.67
Callum Hansey5.002939.675.80
Josh Wells5.0026213.005.20
Mark Johnson3.001800.006.00
Charles Mallett2.011200.006.00

  • Umpire :
  • Scorer :