East Bergholt CC 1st XI v Halstead Cricket Club Saturday 1st XI on Sat 28 Aug 2021 at 12:00
Halstead Cricket Club Won by 6 wickets

Match report Halstead made it back-to-back victories with a 6 wicket win over East Bergholt in a match that was wrapped up in just two-and-a-half hours on Saturday.

The hosts won the toss and elected to bat, but despite a solid start from George Foster (14) and John Hambrook (11) they soon found themselves a wicket down when Ed Clark (4-40) dismissed Foster courtesy of a Harry Pritchard catch.

Kian Schwartz (10) joined Hambrook but a three-wicket burst with the score on 40 reduced the hosts to 40-4. Schwartz drilled Luke Robinson (1-17) at Josh Wells at short cover before Clark took two in two balls, Wells taking another sharp chance at slip to dismiss Hambrook before Alistair Wood edged behind to Sam Hawes first ball.

Connor Oakley (14) survived the hat trick delivery and helped take the scores past the 50 mark, moving to 61 before he too departed, finding Robinson at third man to give Clark his fourth wicket. Daniel Loveless (5) was then trapped lbw by Chris Rayner (4-19) as Halstead continued to make inroads.

Ian Gendy (0) was the third batsman to pick out Josh Wells in the field as Rayner took a second wicket to further pin back Bergholt at 73-7. A 12-run partnership between top-scorer Oscar Dias (22) and Ben McGrath moved the score to 85, but the final three wickets fell without any addition to the total.

Rayner found himself the second Halstead bowler on a hat trick in the innings, dismissing Dias and Nathan Philpot (0) in successive deliveries, before Josh Wells (1-8) wrapped up the innings inside 25 overs by bowling McGrath.

A total of 85 was always going to be difficult to defend, but the dismissal of Chris Rayner (2) in Nathan Philpot's (1-20) first over did give the hosts a little hope. This was built on when Harry Pritchard (6) and Matt Cooper (12) both fell to Kian Schwartz (3-52) as Halstead made their way to 26-3.

Craig Spooner (8) soon followed as Schwartz picked up a third wicket, but there was to be no miraculous comeback as Josh Wells (36*) and Josh King (19*) steered the visitors to victory. The pair of former Felsted left-handers putting on an unbeaten 53 for the fifth wicket to see Halstead home with 37 overs to spare.

East Bergholt CC 1st XI Batting
Player name RunsMB4s6sSR
4nb 3w 1lb 
for 10 wickets
85 (24.3 overs)
George Foster ct  H Pritchard b E Clark 14 22 2 63.64
John Hambrook ct  J Wells b E Clark 11 26 2 42.31
Kian Schwartz ct  J Wells b L Robinson 10 8 2 125.00
Daniel Loveless lbw  C Rayner 5 20 1 25.00
Alistair Wood ct  S Hawes b E Clark 0 1 0
Connor Oakley ct  L Robinson b E Clark 14 15 3 93.33
Oscar Dias ct  C Spooner b C Rayner 22 34 3 64.71
Ian Gedny ct  J Wells b C Rayner 0 8 0
Ben McGrath b  J Wells 1 15 6.67
Nathan Philpot lbw  C Rayner 0 1 0
Ben Bibby Not Out  0 1 0

Halstead Cricket Club Saturday 1st XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Ed Clark9.0240410.004.44
Luke Robinson5.0117117.003.40
Chris Rayner7.021944.752.71
Josh Wells3.31818.002.29

Halstead Cricket Club Saturday 1st XI Batting
Player Name RMB4s6sSRCatchesStumpingsRun outs
2w 4lb 
for 4 wickets
Chris Rayner b  N Philpot 2 4 50.0
Matt Cooper ct  D Loveless b K Schwartz 12 13 2 92.31
Harry Pritchard ct  A Wood b K Schwartz 6 9 66.67 1
Josh Wells Not Out  36 28 4 1 128.57 3
Craig Spooner ct  C Oakley b K Schwartz 8 10 1 80.0 1
Josh King Not Out  19 14 3 135.71
Ed Clark  
Adam Morris  
Luke Robinson   1
Sam Hawes   1
Greg Oxlade  

East Bergholt CC 1st XI Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Kian Schwartz7.0052317.337.43
Nathan Philpot5.0020120.004.00
Connor Oakley1.001300.0013.00