Abberton & District v Halstead Cricket Club Sunday 1st XI on Sun 11 Sep 2016 at 12.30
Halstead Cricket Club Won by 36 runs

Match report Halstead wrapped up their season with silverware, courtesy of a 36 run win away at Abberton.

Adam Morris' NECL side had been in the mix all season, but 20 points at The Brow meant closest rivals Copdock & OIs could not catch them and the Division Three title was secured.

All eleven players were under the age of 24, with an average age of just 21 over the season and 8 of the side having come through the Colts, the future looks bright.

Harry Veal signed off his season with 48 at the top of the order taking his total to 782 runs at an average of 87 for the year, with Adam Morris (25) and Taylor Nicholson (37) playing solid supporting roles.

Veal was caught behind by Cowland off Steve Whitfield before Morris was caught at gully by Allflat off Arnold.

Both Joe Morris (22 from 19) and Ben Roper (31 from 18) added quick runs to prevent Halstead being further bogged down, as Nicholson began to exploit the field being pushed back.

Morris was caught off Whitfield courtesy of a fine running catch from former Halstead man Richard Moxon and Roper's entertaining innings was curtailed when his stumps were rearranged by Will House.

Abrey joined the attack and his slow left arm accounted for five of the final six wickets to fall as Josh Wells (8) was caught on the midwicket boundary by Matt Sullivan, Sam Hawes (13) was bowled round his legs, Charles Mallet (0) trapped LBW first ball, before Nicholson's vigil came to an end as he was bowled.

Abrey wrapped up his five-fer with Liam Jones (5) caught by Pettit, who then bowled Callum Hansey (3) to end the innings. Luke Robinson left not out on 10.

On a quick outfield the score felt a little below par, with Halstead needing to bowl and field well if they were to be crowned champions.

Joe Morris opened the bowling alongside Robinson, the former getting one to grip to bowl Abrey for 1 in the second over.

George Arnold (32) was joined by Moxon (19), with the pair pushing quick singles as Robinson bowled a probing line and length.

Hansey and Veal replaced Morris and Robinson, with runs still at a premium and it was the latter who got the breakthrough, bowling Moxon.

Matt Sullivan joined Arnold at the crease and quickly passed his 1,000th Abberton run for the season as Jones and Wells came into the attack.

It would be Arnold that would blink first, miscuing a Wells delivery with Adam Morris taking a good catch at long on.

The required run rate had crept above 8 at this point and had Sullivan not been dropped in the deep off of Jones, the game could have quickly got away from the hosts.

As it was, Sullivan kept things alive with some inventive batting, but the middle-order couldn't support him.

Quick work from Sam Hawes to stump Lingard (1) gave Jones a wicket, whilst three excellent direct hit run outs from Wells, Adam and Joe Morris accounted for Allflat (4), Cowland (3) and J. Arnold (5).

Wells picked up his second wicket, bowling Pettit and it was practically all over, but there was enough time for Sullivan to complete an unbeaten century in the September evening sunshine.

It was a fitting game to end the season, with another year under their belt the young side will be looking to push on in Division Two next year.

Halstead Cricket Club Sunday 1st XI Batting
Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
2w 13b 3lb 
for 10 wickets
Harry Veal ct S. Cowland - b S. Whitfield 48 48 9 100
Adam Morris ct N. Allflat - b J. Arnold 25 41 3 60.98 1 1
Taylor Nicholson b M. Abrey 37 44 3 84.09
Joe Morris ct R. Moxon - b S. Whitfield 22 19 1 2 115.79 1
Ben Roper b W. House 31 18 5 1 172.22
Josh Wells ct M. Sullivan - b M. Abrey 8 3 1 266.67 1
Sam Hawes b M. Abrey 13 16 81.25 1
Charles Mallett lbw M. Abrey 0 1 0
Liam Jones ct C. Pettit - b M. Abrey 5 6 83.33
Luke Robinson Not Out  10 12 1 83.33
Callum Hansey b C. Pettit 3 4 75.00

Abberton & District Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
W. House9.0055155.006.11
C. Pettit7.4034134.004.43
J. Arnold9.0138138.004.22
S. Whitfield9.0147223.505.22
M. Abrey5.003056.006.00

Abberton & District Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
2nb 5b 5lb 
for 8 wickets
172 (40.0 overs)
M. Abrey b J. Morris 1 2 50.0
G. Arnold ct A. Morris - b J. Wells 32 67 2 47.76
R. Moxon b H. Veal 19 30 2 63.33
M. Sullivan Not Out  103 91 9 5 113.19
P. Lingard st S. Hawes - b L. Jones 1 2 50.0
N. Allflat run out (J. Wells) 4 12 33.33
S. Cowland run out (A. Morris) 3 7 42.86
C. Pettit b J. Wells 4
J. Arnold run out (J. Morris) 5 3 1 166.67
W. House Not Out  0
S. Whitfield  

Halstead Cricket Club Sunday 1st XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Luke Robinson6.001700.002.83
Joe Morris5.0021121.004.20
Callum Hansey6.002700.004.50
Harry Veal6.0022122.003.67
Liam Jones9.0055155.006.11
Josh Wells8.0132216.004.00

  • Umpire :
    Lauren Hume (?)
  • Scorer :
    Larvet Masunda (?)