Halstead Cricket Club Sunday T20 XI v Coggeshall Town CC NECL T20 on Mon 26 Aug 2019 at 15:00
Halstead Cricket Club Won by 49 runs

Match report Halstead - 196-6 - beat Coggeshall - 146 all out - by 49 runs

Halstead claimed the NECL T20 title at the first time of asking with victory over Coggeshall at a packed Star Stile on Bank Holiday Monday.

Ryan Vickery (50), Josh Wells (45), Shorn Bobb (38) and Joe Morris (37*) set up Halstead's innings with valuable contributions, whilst Josh King (3-20), Morris (3-37), Lewis Brennan (2-18) and Liam Jones (1-16) bowled out the visitors 49 runs short of the total.

Coggeshall won the toss and put Halstead in to bat, Shorn Bobb (38) and Ryan Vickery (50) resuming their opening partnership from the semi-final.

Halstead did not start as quickly in the second game, but still found the boundary 11 times in the powerplay, the Coggeshall openers going for 64 in first six overs.

Bobb hit 4 fours and 3 sixes in a 19-ball 38 before miscuing spinner Josh Morton (1-17) to Charlie Green at deep mid-wicket.

Wells (45) and Vickery (50) added 58 for the second wicket with the latter reaching 50 for the third time in this year's competition before top-edging Rob Jagger (1-22) to Robert Cross.

Josh King (0) was caught behind by Toby Brown off Green (1-35) first ball, leaving Halstead at 127-3 and when, 14 runs later, Josh Wells departed to Louis Gibson (2-21) it seemed the Halstead innings could be derailed.

However, Charles Mallett (15) and Joe Morris (37*) helped Halstead to a total of 195-6 from their 20 overs - Mallett departing caught and bowled to Louis Gibson and Ed Clark (0) giving Kane Addison a second catch, this time off George Blackwell (1-25).

Coggeshall's reply got off to the worst possible start as George Blackwell (0) top-edged a Joe Morris (3-37) short ball to Lewis Brennan at deep square-leg, with Rob Jagger (5) bowled by Josh King (3-20) in the next over.

When Charlie Green (5) was caught by Charles Mallett at mid-on off Morris, the visitors were 12-3 and reeling, needing over 10 an over for the remaining 17 overs.

Robert Cross (36) and Andrew Goding (55) rebuilt and put on 69 for the fourth wicket, though the run rate continued to climb to 12-an-over.

Cross had looked dangerous, hitting 2 fours and 3 sixes, but legspinner Liam Jones (1-16) got the breakthrough, Morgan Whymark holding a fine catch running round at square leg.

Barry Edwards (17) offered an impetus alongside Goding as the pair took Coggeshall past the 100 mark, but Edwards and then Toby Brown (0) both fell to King - the former stumped by Vickery, the latter bowled - and Coggeshall's task became nigh on impossible.

Goding made his way to a battling half-century but when he was run out by a Josh Wells direct hit, the Coggeshall chances truly ended.

Harvey Ellis (6) was bowled by Joe Morris and Louis Gibson (0) and Kane Addison (8) both fell to Lewis Brennan (2-18) as Halstead completed a 49-run victory and secured their first and only silverware of the season.

Halstead Cricket Club Sunday T20 XI Batting
Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
2nb 3w 1b 4lb 
for 6 wickets
Ryan Vickery ct R. Cross - b R. Jagger 50 36 6 2 138.89 1
Shorn Bobb ct C. Green - b J. Morton 38 19 4 3 200
Josh Wells ct K. Addison - b L. Gibson 45 31 1 3 145.16 1
Josh King ct T. Brown - b C. Green 0 1 0 1
Charles Mallett ct and bowled - L. Gibson 15 14 1 107.14 1
Joe Morris Not Out  37 20 4 2 185.00
Ed Clark ct K. Addison - b G. Blackwell 0 1 0
Lewis Brennan   1
Morgan Whymark   1
Liam Jones  
Callum Hansey  

Coggeshall Town CC NECL T20 Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Kane Addison4.003200.008.00
Robert Cross3.003800.0012.67
Josh Morton2.0017117.008.50
George Blackwell3.0025125.008.33
Rob Jagger2.0022122.0011.00
Charlie Green3.0035135.0011.67
Louis Gibson3.0021210.507.00

Coggeshall Town CC NECL T20 Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
2nb 10w 2lb 
for 10 wickets
146 (19.2 overs)
George Blackwell ct L. Brennan - b J. Morris 0 1 0
Charlie Green ct C. Mallett - b J. Morris 5 7 1 71.43
Rob Jagger b J. King 5 4 1 125.00
Robert Cross ct M. Whymark - b L. Jones 36 29 2 3 124.14
Andrew Goding run out (J. Wells) 55 48 6 1 114.58
Barry Edwards st R. Vickery - b J. King 17 14 1 121.43
Toby Brown b J. King 0 1 0
Kane Addison b L. Brennan 8 7 114.29
Harvey Ellis b J. Morris 6 4 150.0
Louis Gibson ct J. King - b L. Brennan 0 3 0
J. Morton  0

Halstead Cricket Club Sunday T20 XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Joe Morris4.0037312.339.25
Josh King4.002036.675.00
Shorn Bobb4.001800.004.50
Lewis Brennan2.201829.007.71
Josh Wells3.003500.0011.67
Liam Jones2.0016116.008.00
Photos and video of Halstead Cricket Club Sunday T20 XI v Coggeshall Town CC NECL T20 on Mon 26 Aug 2019 at 15:00

HCC T20 Finals Day Winners

2019 NECL T20 Winners - Halstead CC Back Row: Lewis Brennan, Morgan Whymark, Shorn Bobb, Liam Jones, Joe Morris, Ed Clark, Luke Robinson, Ryan Vickery (wk), Josh King Front Row: Charles Mallett, Callum Hansey (c), Josh Wells (vc)